Build Accountability

Accountability is suffering. Technically, there is no finish line.

Alden Tan
5 min readMay 2, 2020
Credits: Pexels

COVID-19 is a time of reflection. It is when we actually get some time alone with ourselves, if we choose to, without distractions- our mobile phone, social media, Netflix, and the like.

And the past month or so, I have been reflecting quite a bit with myself.

Some days, I am sluggish. I get my work done, then I indulge in hours of video games. I feel lazy to work out. Other days, I wake up detesting this sloth mentality, and set about to more as productive as possible. I push myself. Then, I get tired, and fall back into that vicious cycle again.

It was at this point I stumbled upon a few podcasts and videos featuring David Goggins, the ultra-athlete & ex-Navy SEAL who have been through 3 consecutive Hell Weeks and numerous other adversities in life — and more importantly, reinvented his mind to the person he is today. You can check him out everywhere on YouTube, and one of the most impactful podcasts he has been on was with Joe Rogan. Just search ‘David goggins joe rogan’ and you’ll get some gems.

“Accountability is suffering”

--

--

Alden Tan

I design products for a living in Singapore 🇸🇬 Also, I like to write and think about how to inspire a better world.