5 reasons to move from Sketch to Figma

A designer’s journey.

Alden Tan
9 min readMar 4, 2020
Goodbye Sketch…for now

Note: This article is not sponsored in any form or fashion by Figma, but a genuine reflection of my personal experiences and thoughts. Cheers!

I’d been a Sketch user for 5 years and counting now. It was the go-to solution. It accompanied me through my university days, my startup adventures, and as a career designer. I thought I could do it all with Sketch — designing interfaces, illustrating visuals, creating design systems, and downloading plugins.

Until late last year, this term ‘Figma’ started to float around in articles and conversations within the design community. Amidst that unfamiliar ring, I distinctly recall in certain design interviews which I went for during my most recent job hunt that certain companies are already adopting Figma as their de-facto software. Still, I love Sketch, I thought. Why make the switch when I am already comfortable with it?

One day, the inevitable news arrived at work, when I was happily sketching away on Sketch.

Design planning to make the transition to Figma’.

But, as things will have it, I have never looked back after hopping onto Figma. As baffling as it may sound, I currently think that Figma is actually comparatively more usable than Sketch- and I really like the value…

--

--

Alden Tan

I design products for a living in Singapore 🇸🇬 Also, I like to write and think about how to inspire a better world.